The vast amount of available different products in the market makes it very hard to know for sure which products may be consumed with no risk by people affected by the celiac disease, which ones they should not eat under any circumstances by its content in gluten, or with which ones should be careful when its source is unclear. To clarify this type of doubts, here you can see an indicative list of foods, grouped according to their suitability or not for the diet of people with intolerance to gluten. But first of all let me suggest you to watch the following short video to learn in what consists this disease, what is gluten intolerance, what does this mean for those who suffer it and how they can face it with a proper diet and benefit from a better quality of life .
GLUTEN FOOD LIST
Gluten foods to avoid (for sure)
- Bread and flour of wheat (including semolina, spelt, kamut, einkorn, durum and faro) barley, rye, oat bran or triticale
- Farina and flour or cereal products
- Manufactured products from ingredients having any of the cited above flours and in any form, such as starches, proteins and similar
- Muffins, biscuits, cookies, pastries, cakes, pies and other baked goods
- Italian pasta (macaroni, noodles, etc..) and wheat semolina
- Imitation of certain foods as bacon or seafood
- Malt, malt flavoring and malt vinegar (made from barley)
- Distilled alcoholic beverages or fermented from grain, beer, whiskey, barley water, as well as some spirits
Gluten food to avoid (see the label)
- Charcuterie and sausage products. Processed luncheon meats.
- Flavored yogurts and with pieces of fruits
- Processed cheese in portions, flavored and to spread
- Pâté diverse
- Some canned meats
- Canned fish or seafish with different sauces
- Candies and jellies
- Coffee substitutes and other drinks from vending machines
- Fried and roasted salted nuts with.
- Ice Creams
- Chocolate substitutes
- Food colorants
You have to pay particular attention to prepared food in general as soups, marinades, sauces and seasonings in any format like cans, sachets, cubes, etc. as well as with dairy dessert products. To find out which is the gluten free fast food and the gluten free ice cream brands check always its composition.
LIST OF GLUTEN FREE FOODS
This is the gluten free food list:
- Milk and dairy products: cheese, cream and natural yoghurt
- All kinds of meat and offal, whether fresh, frozen or canned
- Fresh and frozen fish without battering
- Fresh or canned seafood and shellfish
- All types of vegetables, beans, tubercles and fruits
- Brown rice, tapioca as well as corn and its derivatives
- Breads, cereals, crackers, and pasta made of corn, rice, potato, soy, arrowroot, tapioca, sago, flax, and hominy
- Sugar and honey
- Oils and butters
- Coffee, infusions (tea) and soft drinks.
- All sorts of wines and sparkling drinks
- Natural nuts. Salt, balsamic or wine vinegar, and spices
To get an updated gluten free food product list and food gluten free brands and trade marks that are suitable for the consumption by those with celiac disease, readers are referred to celiac associations existing in your country to acquire the guides they usually publish with listings renewed every year.